Chapter 4.04 Creep

Lainey held Caleb’s hand tightly in their coach’s office.

Screenshot-2783

The heads of the Olympic team saw their routine last week, and now they were talking to their coach about the choice about having the two of them on the team.

While their coach spoke on the phone, Caleb whispered to her. “Can you imagine if they pick us?”

“Sh!” Lainey scolded him, wanting to listen to what their coach was saying. She wanted to pick up as much of the conversation as she could.

 

Screenshot-2784.jpg

“Okay. Thanks. I’ll tell them the news.” With that ambiguous end, their coach said goodbye and he hung up the phone. Grinning at the two of them, their coach said. “So, I’m pretty sure you guessed who that was, and they said that they loved your routine, and want you two to represent us.”

“We’re on the team?! We’re on the team!” Lainey cheered, ecstatic.

“We’re on the team, Lain!” Caleb cheered too, grinning along with her. “So, what have we got to do?”

“You’ll have a few months to prepare and perfect the routine you showed them, practising here for a while before going over to where the games are being held and practising there before they start.”

 

Screenshot-2774.jpg

“Guess who’s got into the Olympics?” Lainey shouted as soon as she entered the flat.

“What?!” Roisin asked, going over to her. “For real? You and Caleb got in?” Grinning, she asked this.

Screenshot-2771

“Fuck yeah we got in!” Lainey enthused, smiling widely. “The fucking Olympics, Roisin!”

“Have you told Nick yet? Oh my God I can’t believe this! I’m so proud of you!” Roisin grinned too, hugging her sister.

 

Screenshot-2772.jpg

“Yeah, I told him in the car driving back here.” Still smiling, Lainey then added. “We’re celebrating tonight too, going out to one of the popular clubs to celebrate. You should come along too, get your mind off of a certain someone and them being away for about a year still.”

“Lain…” Roisin’s enthusiasm vanished as she pouted. “I don’t want to. I-I mean…”

“Oh shut up. Come on. It’ll be fun.” She grinned.

 

Screenshot-2773.jpg

“I don’t know, I mean, I just don’t know.” Roisin frowned, watching Lainey as she did so. She’s noticed something weird’s been going on with her lately, but she didn’t really want to mention it, not now at least.

“Why? Jesus fucking Christ, all I’m asking is for you to have some fucking fun.” Snapping that question, Lainey then sighed, and smiled sweetly at Roisin. “Come on, why not? You like some of the other girls I go skating with, and you know you’ll have fun. Come on, celebrate.”

 

Screenshot-2779

“You know, I’m really proud of us Lain.” Caleb grinned at her, swaying slightly as he did. Lainey couldn’t quite tell if it was his attempt to move in time with the music, or if he’s had a bit too much to drink.

“I’m proud of us too.” She grinned in response, figuring out he was probably drunk. “We really worked hard for this.” Tapping him lightly on the shoulder, she didn’t want people to get suspicious of the fact she wasn’t drinking, so was trying her best to act drunk.

 

Screenshot-2778

“We did, yeah.” Pausing for a second, he played with a bit of her hair. “You hair is real pretty when it’s down. Fluffy.” He slurred slightly, running it through his fingers.

“Okay, and you’re drunk.” She laughed, taking his hand away from her hair. “But thanks. You have pretty hair too.” Holding his hand for a little while, she hesitated before letting go.

 

Screenshot-2777.jpg

Running his own hand through his hair, he winked at her. “Thanks. I try.” He then asked. “Hey, want me to buy you a drink?”

Shaking her head, Lainey smiled slightly. “It’s cool, I’m fine. I don’t want one. I’m trying to sober up a little.”

 

Screenshot-2776.jpg

“For real?” He asked, scoffing slightly. “You’ve changed, Lain. You used to be able to drink more than me. Is something going on? Is that why?” He asked, tilting his head slightly, not meaning to as his arms rested on her waist.

“I just, I want to make sure I don’t make any bad decisions through getting too drunk. That’s all. You know I do bad thinks when I’m drunk.” She remarked, lazily draping her arms around the back of his neck

 

Screenshot-2775

“Hey, I’m a bad thing, do me.” Grinning, he laughed at his own pickup line. “We could go back to yours this time? I know you prefer it at yours.”

Smiling somewhat, it was weird. Even though he was acting stupid, and was drunk, and the obvious answer would be to say no… There was part of her that really didn’t want to say no. “Just let me find Roisin, then we can go back to mine.” Kissing him softly, Lainey lost track of what she was supposed to do. What was it again? Right, she needed to find Roisin.

 

Screenshot-2780

“What? You’re going home early?” Roisin asked, pouting. “Why? It’s fun here. The girls at your skating place are fun!” Grinning at her, Roisin leaned on the bar, seemingly supporting herself on it.

Sighing slightly, Lainey began to wonder if she was one of the only sober people here. “Me and Caleb are going back to ours, okay? You’ve got your key too, right?” She asked, considering to ask one of her friends to watch over Roisin.

 

Screenshot-2781.jpg

“Whaaat?! What happened to sisters over misters?!” Roisin asked, appalled. She then gasped. “It’s because you like him! Don’t you?” Poking her playfully, Roisin grinned. “You loooove him!”

“Shut up, drunk.” Lainey nudged her playfully, grinning. “Make sure to get home safe, okay? And…” Looking around, she found one of the girls. “My friend here, Sofia, she’s going to look after you, okay?”

 

Screenshot-2782.jpg

“I’m sorry, but can you please look after her?” Lainey asked her, frowning slightly. “It’s her first night out since her boyfriend was deployed again.”

“Sure thing, yeah. I know what sisters can be like.” Sofia laughed, grinning at Lainey. “Congrats by the way. I saw the routine you guys did, it was super good! I mean, I heard that rumour about one of you being on stuff but I know that’s not true.”

“Heh, thanks.” Smiling in response, she kept herself from seeming panicked. That was a rumour? “Anyway, make sure she gets home alright, okay?”

 

Screenshot-2766

“How ya feelin’, sunshine?” Talking purposefully loudly, Lainey asked this as she noticed Roisin in the kitchen, the next morning.

“Shh.” She shushed, frowning. “My head hurts, okay. Shh.” Sighing, she then smiled. “So, you and Caleb huh? Is he still in your room?”

 

Screenshot-2767

Nodding, Lainey then added. “Don’t get the wrong idea though. We made out in the taxi back, but he fell asleep pretty much as soon as we got back. We were about to get started and then he just fell asleep.” Laughing slightly, she grinned at the thought. “I’m just letting him wake up whenever he wakes up. He was pretty out of it.”

“You were too though. I mean, you said a few times before, you usually are when you hook up with him.” Roisin joked, and then groaned. “Ugh. It hurts to talk. I’m going back to bed.”

 

Screenshot-2768.jpg

“Night, Princess.” Lainey grinned, watching her disappear back into her room.

“Yeah, whatever.”

And with that, Lainey went back into her own room, and saw something shocking when she did.

 

Screenshot-2769

“Lainey, what the fuck are those?” Caleb asked, having woken up and seeing the PEDs she kept in her nightstand after trying to find where he put his wallet..

Lainey didn’t even know how to respond. Whether to be outraged that he found them, or ashamed that she has them. She felt like the severity of what she’s been doing is really resonating with her now.

“You don’t even have an answer?” He asked, glaring at her. “You’re not even going to explain yourself?”

 

Screenshot-2770.jpg

Lainey opened her mouth to speak, but there really wasn’t anything she could say.

Equally as silent, Caleb stood up, gathered his clothes, and stormed out of her room, shoulder barging her on the way out. There was soon the sound of the door opening and closing as Lainey realised how badly she messed up.

______________________________

AN: originally this had a different title. I was just listening to the Radiohead song on repeat (same title lol) while shooting for this chapter, and I didn’t especially like the original title, ergo change!

Also jeez Louise, check me out, two posts in two days! Hot damn.

14 thoughts on “Chapter 4.04 Creep

  1. Frogsnack

    Caleb is sooo creative with his pick up lines xD Basically ‘Ay girl, ‘ay. Ayyyeeee.”

    These girls used to be so sweet and innocent, now they’re all boy crazy! I forgot how wild the Matthews girls can be at that age 😛

    Caleb has a bit of a temper. Not that we can blame him, he didn’t even give her a chance to explain herself “Those belong to Roisin!” etc (I’m sure that would work).

    Kind of cool that there’re girls from her (skating troupe?) that she trusts enough with her sister’s well being. We’ll see in a bit what kind of friends they truly are though, I’m sure.

    Like

    1. To be fair, it was a pretty done deal. The two of them hook up often, so the pick up lines aren’t too necessary, he was just trying them out in his drunken state

      Eh, could be wilder, I’ve seen wilder 😂

      It’s because, well, she didn’t really explain herself, and if there’s a rumour about someone doing that, and then finding it in their bedroom… it’s rather self explanatory. I guess if she had said something or tried to explain he might have reacted a little differently

      She trusts them to look after Roisin, yeah, but it’s more of a “make sure she doesn’t have too much and make sure she gets into a taxi” kinda thing. I think the other girls are more scared of Lainey than friendly with her (she’s kinda like top dog; the best skater at their training rink)

      Like

  2. Is was bound for Laney’s cheating to be discovered. Now I wonder if Caleb will keep his mouth shut about it or if he’s going to reveal her to the authorities. After all, they are partners.
    Roisin will likely be the one comforting Laney now, in any case.

    Like

    1. She was going to get found out eventually. If Caleb does tell the authorities, then both of them are screwed and won’t be able to compete.

      She would be, however she would have to admit to Roisin that she’s done something wrong, which isn’t all too likely

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I knew that Lainey couldn’t go on like this forever. She should have had more faith in herself in that she’d do well without the PEDs. I’m sure she’s terrific either way. I wonder what Caleb’s going to do.
    Can I just say that I love how often you’ve been updating lately? It’s always nice to get more of the story 😀

    Like

    1. She can’t go on like this forever without being caught. It’s hard because even though she knows what she’s doing is wrong, she’s also realising that she’s a better skater because of them, so… yeah. It’ll be hard for her if she ever gives them up.

      That’s so sweet! ❤️ I love updating this often too, I’m really enjoying writing this again which is awesome

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad Roisin went out. At least she was able to have a good time.

    Ahhh, this is bad. If Caleb doesn’t tell on her, then I think she would be found out at some point during the Olympics. Unless she buys someone’s pee. XD

    Like

    1. Yeah, it’s good that Roisin managed to have a good time, even if she was kinda forced into it.

      Caleb likely won’t tell on her, mostly because he needs her, even if he’s more than pissed off at her at the moment. Yeah, she’ll have to either quit or do something crafty to get away with it

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, Laney. From total high to total down in one day. There goes her plans for being on the Olympic team. Unless Caleb doesn’t say anything? Idk, he doesn’t seem like the type to stand for something like that. I’m glad at least Roisin seemed to have a good evening out. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah, very high to very low within just hours.

      It’s hard, because, if he tells them both of them get disqualified, and because he’s worked so hard for it, he doesn’t want to just let it go, so it’s hard.

      Yeah, Roisin had fun ^-^ I feel bad because she’s technically heir and I’m not focusing on her too much xD

      Like

  6. I mean she really wouldn’t have got much further, considering that every Olympic athlete goes through drug tests, don’t they? Also, I feel like it’s what she deserves since she was going to get off with him while completely sober. I guess they’d slept together before but, hmm, still.
    What’s Caleb going to do, I wonder?

    Like

    1. Yeah, they all have to go through drugs tests, but then again, there are ways of getting around them…

      See, even though it is kinda sketchy that she was sober and he was drunk and that’s obviously a bad thing, it is kinda different because they’ve slept together before, quite often (also if either wanted to stop for any reason then you know, no pressure).

      It’s a toughie, between doing what’s morally right and doing what’ll benefit them more

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Someone tell that to Russia then 😛
        Oh, yes, that’s true, but didn’t they comment about how they only slept together when drunk? So the dynamic is a little different than a typical relationship. It’s not as skeevy as it would be otherwise I’ll give you that 😉 I do like them together though. If that’ll ever happen now…

        Like

Leave a comment