Chapter 4.03 Feelings

“I can’t believe you have to go again.”

Screenshot-2752

“I know, it doesn’t feel like it’s been that long.” He mumbled, absently playing with her hair.

Sighing heavily, she asked. “What time do you have to leave?”

 

Screenshot-2753

“Later this afternoon, I’ll be gone before dinner.” Joe spoke quietly before adding. “I think I’m going to be stationed away for quite a long time this time. There’s been a lot of trouble, a lot of people are without houses and necessities so we’ve got to drop down medical and food supplies, and some of the guys are helping to rebuild. Also to peace keep.”

Frowning, Roisin mumbled. “Just be safe, okay? And call as often as you can. I worry about you when you don’t call.”

 

Screenshot-2754.jpg

“Okay, mom.” He teased, grinning at her. “It’ll be sooner than you think before we see each other again, you know. We’ll probably get longer together next time, hopefully.”

“Hopefully.” She echoed, agreeing. Looking over at him, she smiled softly. “Maybe next time, we can talk a little more about that thing we mentioned.”

“Yeah, definitely.” He grinned at her. “We should probably get up soon, yeah? I mean, it’s our last day together, we should spend it doing something.”

 

Screenshot-2755

“You know, Lainey’s going to be at the rink for about another hour or so, so…” Trailing off, Roisin grinned.

“We can stay in bed for a little longer.” Joe agreed, moving on top of her.

 

Screenshot-2747.jpg

“You know, Lain, you’ve been getting better over the past few weeks.” Caleb, Lainey’s couples partner, smiled at her. “More, I dunno, better I guess. Don’t get the wrong idea, you’ve always been great but you’ve just been more energetic for the past few weeks.”

“Thanks, I guess.” Lainey grinned at him in response. “I mean, we’ve got to be our best because the people in charge of the Olympic team want to watch us.”

 

Screenshot-2748.jpg

“Yeah, it’s pretty stressful, huh?” He asked, his arms discretely going around her waist. “We’ll be great though, I mean, we work on it enough.” Taking a moment, he then asked. “You busy tonight?”

Glancing back at him, she smiled somewhat. “Roisin’s boyfriend is getting deployed overseas early tomorrow morning so he’s leaving later, so I’ll be comforting her, probably.”

 

Screenshot-2749

“Well, if you get the chance to break free, you can come over to mine for a while. We can open a bottle of wine, spend some time together where it’s not freezing cold…” He trailed off, smirking at her.

Pausing for a beat, Lainey panicked. Not because of the proposition or the implications, but because of the… Supplements. “I’m alright. I’m trying to stay away from drinking for the mean time.”

 

Screenshot-2750.jpg

“That’s kinda sudden.” Caleb pointed out, curious behind her reasoning. She’s never turned him down before. “You’re not pregnant, are you?” Only half joking, he asked this.

Sighing, she hit him playfully. “No, I’m not. I’m just… Not drinking for a while. Anyway, weren’t you the one who said our arrangement wasn’t very professional?” She asked, raising an eyebrow at him. “Not that I’m objecting to it, but what changed your mind?”

 

Screenshot-2751.jpg

“Alright, alright.” Part of him knew there had to be some reason behind the whole wine thing. After all, the past few times she was the one who brought it over. “And what can I say? I miss our little arrangement.”

“I’ll text you later, I’ll meet you at yours if I can get away later.” She promised, and then moved his arms away. “Come on, one of the rinks is free, we should practice.”

 

Screenshot-2762.jpg

“I really don’t want you to go.” Roisin frowned, pressing herself against Joe as the two of them hugged goodbye. “Have they told you exactly how long for?”

Wincing slightly, Joe had been trying to keep away from using exact time frames, but he couldn’t keep it from her. “About fourteen months. Give or take.”

 

Screenshot-2763.jpg

“What?!” Roisin asked loudly. “That long?!” Taking a moment, she asked. “Is that why you didn’t tell me an exact time frame? Because it was so long?”

Staying quiet for a moment, he sighed heavily. “Yeah. That’s why.”

“That’s also why you brought up, that thing, right?” She asked again, frowning slightly.

“Yeah, that was why.” Looking briefly to the side, he then looked back at her. “The other guys would make fun of me for saying this kind of thing, but I care about you a lot, Ro. A lot. I know that proposing so soon was stupid, and still is stupid. I just… I want you to know how serious I am about you, and about us. I love you, Ro.”

 

Screenshot-2761.jpg

Smiling softly at him, she kissed him softly. “I love you too, and I want us to be together for a long time, and we will be. But for the mean time, I just want us to be us for now. No responsibilities. Just us.”

“Just us.” He agreed, smiling back at her. “But hey, when I get back, we’ll have more time together. Maybe by then you’ll have figured out what to do with the money. Have you decided by the way?”

 

Screenshot-2764

“I think I have, yeah.” Smiling slightly, she then sighed heavily, hugging him tightly. “I really don’t want you to go. I want you to stay here with me.”

“I want to stay too. I don’t want to leave.” Frowning, he held her close. “I promise, I’ll be back before you know it.” Kissing her on the top of her head, he picked up the stuff he left at her place. “I’ll call you as often as I can, and video call when I can too.” He promised, smiling softly at her.

 

Screenshot-2765.jpg

“I love you.” She told him, watching him open the door. “So, so much.”

“I love you too.” Kissing her once more, he took a moment before he stepped outside of the door and left.

There was a moment of silence after his footsteps died down, where Roisin felt herself begin to cry. It all seemed to follow some sort of sick cycle. First, she’s excited as Joe comes home, the two of them spend half of their time happy being back together, and the other half trying to ignore the fact he’s leaving. They have a heartfelt goodbye, and he leaves, while she’s stood there getting upset, wishing and praying that this isn’t the last time she’ll see him.

 

Screenshot-2760.jpg

“This show is so stupid.” Roisin grumbled, turning off the movie as the two main characters finally fell in love with each other. “It’s so stupid. Like hell that would happen in real life.”

“You’re just being bitter.” Lainey pointed out, honestly rather glad she turned it off. “Why don’t we watch something else instead? It’s too quiet without anything on.”

 

Screenshot-2756

“Fourteen months, Lainey. Four. Teen. Months. That’s about four hundred and twenty five days!” Sighing heavily, she kicked one of the cushions absently, trying not to get upset. “I hate this. I just want him back.”

Sighing too, Lainey moved over and sat next to Roisin on her sofa. “I know. I know you want him back.” Hugging her somewhat tightly, she mumbled. “Why don’t we talk about something else? You said you decided what to do with the money?”

Screenshot-2757.jpg

“Yeah, uhm. Joe mentioned something about rebuilding houses, and then I thought about it, and I decided that I want to do something kinda similar, like owning properties and renting it out to people who can’t afford their own places.” Roisin explained, and then frowned slightly at the buzzing sound. “Is that you?”

“Yeah, Caleb’s been texting me. He wants me to go over.” Lainey mumbled dismissively, checking her phone, pulling a face, and then putting it away.

 

Screenshot-2758

“Caleb? Your partner, Caleb?” Roisin asked, pulling out of the hug and turning to look at her. Smirking somewhat, she added. “You know, I used to think that male figure skaters were always at least a little bit gay, until I met him.”

Grinning in response, Lainey reassured her. “Don’t worry. I’m pretty sure he’s an anomaly.” She then explained. “He wanted me to go over to his, but I said I was busy with you tonight.”

 

Screenshot-2759.jpg

“Lain, you don’t have to stay with me. I’m being boring and mopey.” Laughing slightly at her own defence, she smiled at her. “Go and meet him if you want to. I don’t mind.”

“I can’t just leave you here, not right now. I don’t mind, seriously. There’ll be another time for him and me. Besides. Sisters before misters, right?” Grinning, Lainey added that cheesy line.

“Yeah, sisters before misters.”

______________________________

AN: I’m not sure if I’m happy with the way Caleb looks. You know when you picture something vaguely in your head and try to make it but it won’t be like made? xD

There’s a lot of the two sisters with their other halves (kinda in Lainey’s case, definitely in Roisin’s), I guess I just wanted some fluffy stuff and angsty stuff? *shrugs*

I really like that sisters placard. I know it’s probably aimed at little-r sisters, but I dunno, I think it’s cute ^-^ (haven’t got a clue where I got it though xD)

10 thoughts on “Chapter 4.03 Feelings

  1. Poor Roisin. I bet she will be missing Joe greatly, although I’m somewhat a little worried she may find another guy in the meantime. Long-distance relationships are hard, aren’t they?
    And Lainey, uh…Supplements, no! Stop! Gah. I can’t choke off her doing. And um…Caleb seems nice. And definitely not gay, lol.

    Like

    1. She does love Joe, and will miss him, a lot, like she always does. But she’s faithful. Even if other guys come into the picture, she’ll always love and want to be with Joe

      She does need to stop, but I don’t think that’ll be happening very soon, sadly. Caleb’s nice, very not gay xD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Frogsnack

    Is that why army guys are so hot, because they’re never at home so they become the perfect man that nobody can touch? xD Poor Roisin though, seriously, although if they can get through this they’ll be able to get through anything else too.

    It’s so cute how the girls ended up getting to spend time together at the end though. :3

    Like

    1. Ah, army guys, the forbidden fruit of people xD
      For reals, it is hard for Roisin. She hates that he’s in the army, but she knows that it’s what he wants to do right now.

      Yeah, they put aside their guys and spent some time together, just the two of them ^-^

      Like

  3. I wonder if Joe will rethink hid career choices, at some point. Like, is it a choice? I’m sure with those army skills, he can get a job elsewhere, too. Because separations like these are practically punishment for a young couple.
    Laney, if you need to refrain from drinking because of these pills, they are most likely very unhealthy.

    Like

    1. It is a choice, and for now it’s what he wants to do, even though he knows it’s hard. Maybe at some point in the future, he might change career, but only maybe. It depends.

      Mmm. They aren’t good for her, but Lainey doesn’t quite see it just yet, although others are becoming kinda suspicious of her

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So I guess Roisin has been so in love with Joe that she hasn’t spotted anything odd with lainey yet, huh :/ Hope she does soon. I think she might be the only one who can talk her out of it.
    And they’re engaged? Whoa. I mean Joe seems nice enough, but still. PRENUP girl! FFS. I like her idea though. Renovating houses has always sounded so cool though I wouldn’t know where to start.

    Like

    1. She’s not noticed anything major, just kinda little things with her, but she’s putting it down to stress or other factors. Nothing serious enough to talk yet. Yet. (but yes joe has been taking up a lot of her time)

      They’re not engaged yet, I think it was subtle but it implied that he proposed but she said no.
      Shes not thinking about that omg Carys believe in love (besides I feel like she’d be kinda happy if he did take like half of the money lol less to stress over)
      It is cool, that’s what I’d do if I had a bunch of money, but I don’t 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I like Lainey’s idea for the money. She’ll be happy if she can help other people out. ^^

    I’m really worried about Joe now, and curious about the marital structure roll. I’m afraid he may put himself into danger, or they may be long distance for a long time. Me and my boyfriend were long distance for about a year, but we got to see once a month, and it was still really hard, so I’m worried for them being apart that long.

    At the least, Lainey isn’t risking mixing her supplements with alcohol, so that’s not as bad as it could be, I suppose.

    Like

    1. It’s worrisome, yeah. You’ll find out what the rolls are eventually. I think it might be a bit confusing for now (especially because it’s not fully hinted at yet. There’s something happening soon that’ll possibly make it more obvious). I’m sorry to hear that about your boyfriend, long distance relationships must suck :c

      Yeah… I guess there’s a small silver lining in there somewhere

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment