Chapter 4.13 Spoiled

Life wasn’t easy.

Screenshot-169.jpg

Juniper always felt bad thinking that, as her life was amazing. She had two dads that loved her unconditionally (granted, they weren’t biological, but Juniper always saw that as they actually wanted her, and didn’t just happen upon her by a broken condom or a missed pill), she had a younger brother who, despite annoying her to the breaking point, she loved and knew was loved back.

 

Screenshot-172

Right now, she even had this whole new family! She had sisters, and she got to meet her mom, and met her (kind of) real dad. Her home was a flat in the city centre, and because both her new sisters had quite a lot of money, it was bought outright, no rent to pay, and the bills were usually super low (granted Juniper didn’t pay that much towards the bills; her job paid a lot less than Lainey’s, and Roisin had a fuck load of inheritance that basically means she never has to work, whereas Juniper has university crap to pay for).

 

Screenshot-174.jpg

By university crap, that involves the one year she did of law school (she always admired how cool her dad was in court, even if it was super long hours), and then after that first year, she took a gap year that’s kind of just… Lasted. Lasted to the point where she realised that university just wasn’t for her. After spending so long in the hell hole that was the education system, she quickly realised that more school and more stress just wasn’t for her. And that’s okay because not everyone goes to university.

 

Screenshot-173

Like that guy who created that social media site. He didn’t go to university and now he’s a billionaire! He has so much money, he probably wipes with big notes.

Then again, he probably didn’t spend much of his time chilling behind a bar, knowing that it’s going to be dead for majority of the morning because who starts drinking at a hipster-y, trying to be something but it’s not, bar at nine in the morning?

 

Screenshot-171

At least that was something: she was assistant manager here, probably because she was one of the only people to last here longer than a year. She never knew how quick the turn over was in customer service jobs until she started working at one.

She’s met, interviewed, trained, worked with and said goodbye to so many people here in such a short time. With a few people, she tried to stay in touch, say they’d be friends even outside of work, but that never happened. No one stays in contact with each other, especially not with the assistant manager and not in this line of work.

 

Screenshot-170

“We’re still closed.” She announced upon hearing the door open, not bothering to look up at whoever just walked in. It was only her in this morning as someone called in sick last minute, and she had a lot of stuff to do. Hell, she even had to come in early to take care of admin-y things as well as front of house things.

“My car broke down. I was just hoping I could use the phone to inform the office.” A deep voice responded, and the sound of his footsteps was heard as he approached the bar. “I left my phone overnight at the office. I didn’t think I would need it.”

 

Screenshot-176

Restraining the urge to sigh, Juniper got her phone out of her pocket and placed it on the bar. The man looked her up and down as she did this, and he smirked. “Funny. I thought it would have been company policy to not have your phone on you.” Obviously trying to tease her, he then added. “Want me to ask your manager?”

Blinking a few times, she replied. “I am the manager. Well, technically assistant, but the manager can’t fire me on her own, and the owner’s a bit of an ass and wouldn’t care that much anyway.”

 

Screenshot-177

“So, the passion’s died?” The guy in the suit asked in response, to which Juniper smirked.

“It’s a customer service job. The passion was never really there to start with. Granted, there are some of us who are interested in this kind of thing, like how all the different alcohols are made and stored, but some of us are rich kids who ask for a bar, and then don’t know how to run one.” Shrugging, she then pointed to the smokers area. “If you need privacy, you can step out on the terrace. I can’t really let you into the bathrooms yet because I need to check them over first and I’ve got too much stuff to do.”

“Noted.” Nodding once, he took her phone and stepped out onto the terrace.

 

Screenshot-175

Watching him, Juniper felt her mind start to race. Since living with her two sisters and their boyfriends (well, fiance in Roisin’s case, and… Caleb in Lainey’s case) , it’s made her think about where she was in her love life, to the point where whenever she sees a guy, she immediately thinks of marriage and what their babies would be called, which just in turn freaked her out. She had to remind herself several times that her sisters were both a fair deal older than she was, and so she needed to remind herself that she was still young and did not need to imagine the wedding theme when any guy said hello to her.

He was cute though.

 

Screenshot-180

When the guy walked back into the room, he handed Juniper her phone back. He took a moment, and then asked her. “How come bars open so early? I can’t imagine many people wanting to drink at this time.”

“You’d be pleasantly surprised.” Juniper grinned in response, taking her phone back. “I’m not complaining. The longer I’m in, the more I get paid.” Shrugging, she continued to absently wipe down the bar. “Whether or not that amount it worth it however… Different story.” Taking a moment, she then asked. “What do you do?”

 

Screenshot-181

“I work at a law firm, I’m a senior partner.” He smiled at her, subtly adjusting his tie.

Smiling slightly, she commented. “Oh, that’s cool. I actually did a year of law school. Couldn’t do uni though, it wasn’t for me. It was sad because I really wanted to go into law.”

“That’s a shame…. Lady.” Chuckling, he asked. “What’s your name, sorry? My name’s Sebastian, Sebastian Darcy.”

 

Screenshot-178

“My name’s Juniper, Mr Darcy.” Juniper grinned, teasing him and flirting lightly. Was it inappropriate? Yes. Did she care that much? No.  “There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.” She quoted, putting on a country accent.

“Funny how your name’s Juniper and you work in a bar.” He noted, grinning at her. “You know that quote off by heart?”

“My dads had a big library and I had no friends growing up.” Shrugging, Juniper grinned back at him.

 

Screenshot-179

“Anyway, why didn’t you continue law? Quite a lot of firms hire young people for apprenticeships and internships.” He pointed out, watching her. “In fact, I know a place that’s got an open interview for someone tomorrow.” Sebastian mentioned in an unsubtle manner, sliding over a business card.

“Interesting.” Taking the card, Juniper looked it over. “Interesting.” Putting it in her back pocket, she grinned at him. “Maybe I’ll show up.”

 

Screenshot-183

“Maybe I’ll see you there, I’m in charge of interviews.” He noted, turning to walk out of the door. “I mean, I will be, unless they fire me for flirting with an attractive barmaid instead of working.”

“Well, I mean, if I get it, I know a bar that’ll be hiring.” She told him, grinning at him as he walked out of the bar.

 

Screenshot-168

“Well someone’s got a spring in their step.” Roisin commented, seeing Juniper happy after work, which was weird. “Good day at work today I’m guessing? Did a rude customer fall over again?”

Grinning at the memory, Juniper shook her head. “No,not this time. I uhm, I’ve been offered an interview at this law firm.”

“Oh shit.” Roisin spoke, dumbfounded. “That’s so cool! What happened?”

 

Screenshot-166

“This guy came in, he was a lawyer at this big firm. I recognise it because my dad knew those guys at that firm, and he said they’re looking for interns to do like this apprenticeship thing. I think based on the fact that I’ve done a year at law school, it’ll probably help me out.” Juniper grinned, showing the business card off to Roisin.

“That’s so cool!” Roisin grinned in response, but her face soon momentarily fell. “Just promise me you’ll be careful at this new job, if you get it, though, right?”

 

Screenshot-167.jpg

“I’m always careful, Ro.” Giving her a weird smile, she then commented. “It’s not like I’m purposefully doing anything stupid, hell I’ve got a better job lined up for me, one where I won’t have to clean vomit out of toilets if someone gets too drunk. Hell, no one will get drunk there! And if they do, it’ll be some fancy office party and I can get drunk too.” Grinning, she enthused.

“You know what I mean, and you know I’m just a worrier.”

 

Screenshot-162

After running through the routine a few times before doing it in dress, Caleb and Lainey took a break for a short period of time.

“Hey Lain? You ever thought about competing again?” The question wasn’t a surprising one, after all, he could see that she obviously missed skating.

Freezing, Lainey wasn’t so sure how to respond. The idea of competing again… She wasn’t so sure how ready she was for that again. She knew she’d never do anything as stupid as last time, but she wasn’t all too sure how ready she was to compete again. Obviously she’s thought about it, but… “I, I don’t know. I’ve thought about it, but I don’t know.”

 

Screenshot-163

“You know, you’re a lot different than the person you used to be.” Skating over to her, he said that. “You’re stronger than what you were, and I know you’d never do something like that again.” Pausing for a moment, he added. “I also know that it’s probably secretly killing you not skating. So, here’s what I’m thinking; the Winter Olympics are still two years away so not focusing on them, but the last day to apply for the first heat for getting into Worlds is in about a month. There’s still time for us to enter as a duo, if you want to.”

 

Screenshot-164

Smirking somewhat, Lainey grinned at him. “Well, I guess you do kinda need me to compete. I’ve seen you doing singles, and the Lainey replacement wasn’t all that great. Well, not as great as me.”

Grinning at her answer, he agreed, his hand sliding over hers. “Yeah, she was no you. She had modesty.” Teasing her, he was genuinely happy that she wanted to compete again. It just wasn’t the same doing singles or with someone else.

 

Screenshot-165.jpg

She then smiled at him, her arms moving to go around him, and his moving in tandem . “And, I have really missed competing. I guess I just needed someone else to tell me that.”

Shrugging slightly, he smiled back at her in response. “Hey, it’s nothing. I guess I just know you better than you think I do. I mean, it’s what friends are for, right?”

… Friends?

Smiling in response, despite what he just labelled their relationship, Lainey agreed. “Yeah, it’s what friends are for.”

______________________________

AN: Whoops she updated 😛

 

Guess who’s momentarily back?! WoOOOoooOOOooooo

 

7 thoughts on “Chapter 4.13 Spoiled

    1. Nah. Anyone that’s passionate in a customer service job is a liar! And yeah! She got herself something new!

      See, their relationship is weird, where they’re not really boyfriend and girlfriend but they’re definitely not just friends, it’s complicated

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Frogsnack

    But there are many benefits to friendship… c’mon, we’re all THINKIN’ it!

    Juniper gets some screentime! And is already changing jobs. She is cute as a bartender though, sheesh this house is going to have way too much money if she ends up going into law. Three rich chicks in an apartment. Just buy the whole building! :p

    I really like Ro so much. I imagine her as like a camp counselor type, always helping out kids or donating time to other people.

    Like

    1. There are many benefits, but, is it really just that? You know?

      Yeeee! I feel like I’ve been ignoring her xD She is cute as a bartender, I think it suits her but it’s not what she wants to do! And yeah, the other two are only working to keep themselves entertained, they really don’t have to.

      Roisin is very much like the mum of the three. She’s the most responsible and is the most caring and considerate, definitely. She’s the most mature one out of the three

      Like

Leave a comment