Chapter 2.02 Perfect Fake Family

Staying off and working from home was honestly boring.


Right now, she was probably living every school kid’s dream, being paid for staying away from work, but after a while it got seriously boring. She couldn’t help but think about how she should appreciate the peace while she had it, but it was boring.


She sighed, glancing from the monitor over to the phone. She has been putting off telling her brother and sister about the baby, mostly because she didn’t exactly want to answer all too many questions about who the father was. Then again, she had to tell either Connor or Rosie at some point, because they were coming over to celebrate Snow Day in a few days time, and she couldn’t exactly hide the baby upstairs.

She decided on telling Rosie first, then asking her to tell Connor (Not like she particularly needed to ask, she knew that her sister would end up blabbing about it anyway.) But she hesitated before dialling the number. Maybe it was just a thing with her always dreading calling people. She quickly dialled Rosie’s number, and held the phone up to her ear.

“Hey Lyss.” Alyssa heard her sister’s unusually chirpy voice over the phone. Maybe because it was snowing? She didn’t know. “Do you wanna go out for coffee later or something? It’s got to be fairly boring at work.”

“Yeah, work is fairly boring, but I actually called to tell you something…” She trailed off, not as nervous as she was though. Her sister wouldn’t get all too angry at her, right?

“Go ahead, and is that a dog I hear? Why is there a dog in your office?” Rosie asked, hearing Poppy and her insane barking at the computer and around Alyssa’s feet.

She moved away from Poppy, “I think you might be hearing things.” She murmured, putting on concern. She glared at Poppy, and held a finger up to her lips, telling the dog to shut up. “So anyway, what I wanted to tell you…” She bit her lower lip, then managed to say “You’re going to be an aunt again.”

Rosie was quiet for about a second, before speaking, “Really? I can’t believe Sabrina told you before she told me. I’m happy for her and Connor, but I just thought-”

“Its not Sabrina this time. I’m pregnant.” Alyssa interrupted her sister, and there was more silence from Rosie’s side of the conversation. After a while, she couldn’t help but ask “Rosie? You still there?”

“I’m coming over.” And with that, she hung up.

Alyssa sighed, and placed the phone back in its holder, “Well, that could have gone better.” She murmured.

When Alyssa heard the door open, she went over to see her sister there. The two girls stared at each other for a while, but Alyssa could tell that her sister was rather.. Angry? More of a surprised angry. She smiled weakly “Surprise.”

The slight humour wasn’t found on Rosie, as she simply said: “Explain, now.”

“Well, I-” Alyssa started, but was all too soon interrupted.

“How could you be so stupid?!” Rosie exclaimed, and it caught her off guard. “I mean, its pretty obvious it wasn’t planned.” She scowled, folding her arms.

“Maybe it wasn’t planned but-” Alyssa was cut off again.

“Do you have any idea how difficult it is to raise a child on your own?” She asked, not quite as angry now. She wasn’t yelling, but she was still scowling.

“I’ll manage.” She sighed, holding her hands out in defense. “And can you please stop being so patronizing? I’m an adult, I have a job and its not like I’m broke.” She folded her arms.

Rosie sighed, and stepped closer to Alyssa “You’re right, I’m sorry. But you really shouldn’t be raising a child on your own. If you want to keep this house, then me, Liam and Elvie can move in with you here, I don’t want you being on your own.” She frowned.

Alyssa looked away, and murmured, “I don’t want you moving in. I want to be independent and manage to do things on my own as an adult.”

“I know you want to independent, and I want that for you too, but you can’t do this alone and I’m taking that the father isn’t here either.” She frowned. “What happened between you and him anyway?” She asked.

Alyssa hesitated, unsure if she really wanted to tell Rosie about her time with Matteo. “The father? He uh…” She trailed off, trying to think of an excuse. She was relieved when there was a knock at the door, and she bypassed Rosie to answer it, however it was probably the last person she intended on seeing.

Alyssa put on a smile, “Tyler… Hey.” She bit her lower lip slightly. She probably least wanted to tell Tyler and Rosie at the same time, but there fate goes.

“So, is this the father?” Rosie asked, folding her arms and turning her attention to the new person in the room. Clearly Alyssa hasn’t done a very good job of telling people.

“I-I uh…” She trailed off, then he did something really unexpected…

He kissed her.

Out of reflex, she flinched away. Honestly, if her sister wasn’t there, she probably would have yelled at him for doing that, (before she remembered that she had randomly kissed him too, so now they were even.)

Of course, he knew what he was doing. He knew what she was thinking about, but he had to mostly base off  the little he got from what she was thinking about as he couldn’t tell what was on her sister’s mind. Maybe it was because him and Alyssa were close, and have some sort of special connection? (Or it may have just been because her thoughts were all screams, he prefered to think it was the closeness thing though.)

Tyler gave her a slight smile, and murmured very quietly (so Rosie couldn’t hear) “Play along, okay?” Right now, all he could read was that she didn’t want to leave the house and move in with her sister, also that she didn’t want neither him nor Rosie to find out about the baby’s dad. He figured, why not take one for the team? Just this one time though.

Alyssa gave Rosie a kind of smug look. “See? I told you that I would cope.” She pointed out, smiling. She felt Tyler’s arms go around her, and it honestly felt nice. She loved being this close to him again, she just had to remind herself that it was pretend.

“And to answer what you asked, yeah, I am the father.” Tyler half smiled at Rosie, kissing Alyssa on the cheek as he went over to her. “I’m Tyler. And I’m taking that you’re Rosie?” He smiled, “Alyssa’s told me a lot about you.”

She nodded, “I didn’t realize my little sister talked about me so much.” Rosie raised an eyebrow at Alyssa.

“She told me that the two of you were close when she was younger.” He half smiled. “And that you’re kinda protective over her.”

Rosie grinned, mischievously. “Very protective, trust me. So, don’t break my little sister’s heart, okay?” She smiled at him.

He smiled, “That’s the last thing I would ever do. I’d never hurt Alyssa in that way.” And he meant that. Even though it did hurt when he found out she cheated, (and the fact that she probably went back to that French bastard) he could never ever hurt her, or even think about being mean to her.

Speaking of her, she came up to him and kissed him on the cheek, “And I know you won’t.” There was a hint of guilt in her eyes. She knew she had done something wrong, and seeing Tyler again made her feel worse about it, especially knowing that he isn’t holding too much of a grudge against her. He really was a great guy.

It was fairly awkward for Rosie to see her little sister making out with someone she had only just met that day. She moved her hair a little, and coughed to try and get their attention. When that didn’t work, she thought it would probably be best to just go. “So, uh… I have to check Liam and Elvie are okay. I’ll see you on Snow Day, Lyss.”

Once Rosie left, he pulled away. It took Alyssa a moment, before she smiled at him. “Thanks for that, I really didn’t want Rosie to forcibly move in with me.” She half smiled.

He smiled slightly back, “Its fine. So, I’m taking your situation is the reason why you canceled meeting me?” He raised an eyebrow. He could see why it would be a little awkward.

She looked down at the floor, purposely avoiding eye contact. “Yeah, it is.” She murmured, “I found out a few minutes before I texted you.” She admitted. “I was worried it would be awkward.” She finally looked up at him, and gave a small, sheepish smile.

“Because your French guy would get jealous?” He smirked a little, joking. “Where is he by the way?” He couldn’t help but ask, or wonder what this guy even looked like.

She let her arms drop back down to her side, “France.” She sighed, “I tried to call him, but he wasn’t picking up, and seeing as though I can’t go back over to France, that was the only way I could tell him. I left him a message telling him, but he hasn’t called back.”

“Oh, I uh…” He didn’t quite know what to say. Its one thing to know that someone isn’t going to help, but right now she didn’t know if he was or wasn’t. Tyler knew he was a asshole though, (again not like he was jealous or anything). “That’s rough.” Was all he could think of saying, as he rubbed the back of his neck, awkward again.

“It’s what I get for being fairly careless though.” She bit her lower lip, frowning. She hesitated before asking “I know this is kinda weird to ask, but would you mind staying here for a little while? With Tallulah in the city, and I don’t know where Bonnie is, you’re kind of the only one I can ask who won’t force me to move in with them forever.” She smiled slightly.

“Sure, I’ll stay for a while. Mostly because it’s either here or with…” He then stopped, and shook his head. “I’ll stay here with you.” He smiled at her.

“Or with who?” She asked, raising an eyebrow. “And why do you have to stay with someone? What about your place?” She pressed.

He paused, thinking about if he should make an excuse up. But then again, honesty was best, right? “Either here or with my girlfriend at her sister’s place.” He spoke carefully. “We bought a place, and she said that there’s a ‘bad aura’ there and it needed to be redone.”

She managed to put on a smile. He had a girlfriend?! “You have a girlfriend? That’s nice, I’m happy for you.” She was happy for him, but she couldn’t help but feel like she just got slapped. The already fairly slim chances are even thinner.

“Yeah, I do.” He half smiled, a little sheepishly. “If that’s awkward, I can just stay with her and her sister.” He suggested, in case she was uncomfortable with him now.

She shook her head, “I still need someone to stay with me, if you still want to?” She raised an eyebrow.

“How can I resist the offer?” He grinned in response.

Chapter 2.01 Cakey or Gooey?  

______________________________

AN: I don’t even know why this took me so long to write. I had two days off this week as well. Ah well, at least its out there now.

I’m just going to say now, that at no point will Rosie ever move in with Alyssa again. That was for storytelling purposes only.

Leave a comment